Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Embassy Holidays
 
DateDayU.S.*Burmese**
January 1 Friday New Year's Day
January 4 Monday  Independence Day
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday
February 12 Friday  Union Day
February 15 Monday  President's Day
April 11 Monday   Holiday for Thingyan (Water Festival)
April 12 Tuesday   Thingyan (Water Festival)
April 13 Wednesday   Thingyan (Water Festival)
April 14 Thursday   Thingyan (Water Festival)
April 15 Friday   Thingyan (Water Festival)
April 18 Monday   Burmese New Year
May 30 Monday Memorial Day  
July 4 Monday Independence Day  
July 19 Tuesday   Full moon of Waso
[Beginning of Buddhist Lent]
September 5 Monday Labor Day  
October 10 Monday Columbus Day
November 11 Friday Veteran's Day
November 14 Monday Full moon of Tazaungmone 
November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day  
December 26 Monday Christmas Day  

 

* American Holidays falling on Saturday will be observed the preceding Friday. Holidays falling on Sunday will be observed on the following Monday.

** Burmese Holidays falling on either Saturday or Sunday will be observed only on the respective day. The Embassy will be OPEN the preceding Friday and the following Monday when Burmese holidays are celebrated on either Saturday or Sunday.

For Idd, Deepavali, Karen New Year, Peasants' Day and Full Moon day of Tabaung, Embassy will observe a liberal leave policy.