Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Embassy Holidays
 
DateDayU.S.*Burmese**
January 1 Thursday New Year's Day
January 19 Monday Martin Luther King's Birthday  
February 12 Thursday   Union Day
February 16 Monday President's Day  
March 27 Friday   Armed Forces Day
April 13 Monday   THINGYAN (Water Festival)
April 14 Tuesday   THINGYAN (Water Festival)
April 15 Wednesday   THINGYAN (Water Festival)
April 16 Thursday   THINGYAN (Water Festival)
April 17 Friday   Burmese New Year
May 1 Friday   Workers' Day
May 25 Monday Memorial Day  
July 3 Friday Independence Day  
July 31 Friday   Full moon of Waso
[Beginning of Buddhist Lent]
September 7 Monday Labor Day  
October 12 Monday  Columbus Day Full moon of Thadinkyut
[End of Buddhist Lent]
October 28 Wednesday Full moon ofThadinkyut[Beginning Buddhist Lent] 
November 11 Wednesday Veteran's Day  
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day  
December 25 Friday Christmas Day  



* American Holidays falling on Saturday will be observed the preceding Friday. Holidays falling on Sunday will be observed on the following Monday.

** Burmese Holidays falling on either Saturday or Sunday will be observed only on the respective day. The Embassy will be OPEN the preceding Friday and the following Monday when Burmese holidays are celebrated on either Saturday or Sunday.

For Idd, Deepavali, Karen New Year, Peasants' Day and Full Moon day of Tabaung, Embassy will observe a liberal leave policy.